Yay, Chocolate Chip Cookies!

I can’t believe it’s been over a month since my last post!  When I logged onto WordPress, I almost couldn’t remember how to get to the page where you are able to add a post.  Oh Wednesdays, how you play tricks with my mind.  This Wednesday is not your run-of-the-mill Wednesday, however.  Rather, it’s a chocolate chip cookie Wednesday!

My hubbie, who’s usually not a sweet tooth, asked me to make the chocolate chip cookies that I started baking when I first began experimenting with grain-free desserts and came upon Elana’s Pantry.  This website is a must visit for all kinds of scrumptious grain-free recipes.  Elana Amsterdam, the culinary brains behind this website, has the best grain-free chocolate chip cookie recipe!  So good, that it’s even featured on the back of Honeyville’s 5lb blanched almond flour bag.  I usually cut this recipe in half since that makes the perfect quantity for a quick dessert fix with not too much left over that we overdose in chocolate chip cookie splendor (easy to do with this recipe).  I made a few ingredient substitutions mostly because my pantry didn’t have the exact ingredients needed; however, I just noticed that my substitutions make this recipe more closely resemble Elana’s primal chocolate chip cookies.  Thanks Elana for elevating the chocolate chip cookie to new heights!

So raid your pantry and make these cookies.  Guaranteed to sweeten up your day!  While baking these cookies I also listened one of my favorite bands, Girl in a Coma, on my ipod.  For me, their song “Smart,” featured below, captures the energy/mood I feel when baking.

Ingredients

1 1/4 cup blanched almond flour (I recommend Honeyville)

1/4 tsp sea salt

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/4 cup canola oil

1/2 tbsp vanilla extract

1/4 cup raw honey

1/3 cup semisweet chocolate chips (I recommend Guittard brand)

Directions

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.  Combine dry ingredients in a small bowl.  In a medium bowl, whisk together oil, honey, and vanilla until smooth and creamy.  Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients until well combined.  Fold in chocolate chips.  Scoop out the dough with a tablespoon to help keep the cookies uniform in size and place about 1.5 inches apart on a parchment paper lined cookie sheet.  Bake for 10-12 minutes.  Since oven temps vary you should check the cookies at around 7 minutes to see how they’re doing.  If they need more time, leave them in more time, but keep a watchful eye.  Makes 16 cookies.

Baking mood music.

Tagged , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Yay, Chocolate Chip Cookies!

  1. Diane says:

    They are delicious!!! When I noticed your post this morning, I was hoping you would bring a sample to work. Thank you!

    • loves comida says:

      Glad you liked! This is by far my favorite choco chip cookie recipe because they’re just the right amount of sweetness and also super easy to make. Definitely check out Elana’s page since her original recipe for primal chocolate chip cookies has slightly different measurements, but I think my substitutions work nicely too (I also don’t press the dough down as she suggests). Her recipe on the Honeyville bag calls for agave nectar instead of honey, so that also works well as the sweetener.

  2. Xiomara says:

    I want to try these (minus the honey). They seem easy to make.

    I made some the other day using flax seed as an egg replacer and they were A LOT of work to make!!

    🙂

    • loves comida says:

      I’ve been wanting to try using flax as an egg replacer–I’ve heard it called a “flax egg.” Do you have any baking recipe suggestions using flax seed? As for the sweetener, Elana Amsterdam’s original chocolate chip cookie recipe calls for agave nectar. I think you could also use maple syrup as well. Happy baking!

Leave a Reply

