Socca Focaccia Flatbread

I first heard of socca from Eat the Cookie, whose socca pizza recipe is what inspired me to make a socca focaccia flatbread.  I used this recipe as the base of my flatbread recipe with some adaptations to create a focaccia bread look, although I don’t think it’s quite like focaccia bread in flavor (in terms of texture, it’s almost corn-bread like and has a taste all its own).  Thank you Eat the Cookie for introducing me to socca.  My food world has been forever changed…

Socca is a type of street food popular in the South of France, as explained on Serious Eats.  From photographs that I’ve seen online, it appears that socca is often prepared more like a crepe, which is a departure from the 1/4 inch thickness that this recipe produces.  I love socca’s versatility.  I just had it for dinner this evening, accompanied by a roasted red pepper and tomato soup (I will someday make this from scratch, but until then, I’m a fan of Pacific’s brand).  For breakfast tomorrow, I fully intend to have some of the leftover socca re-heated and with poached eggs on top.  I haven’t tried it yet for a sandwich, but I suspect that it would work lovely with ham and swiss cheese (occasionally I melt this combo on top).

To make socca, you need a 10 inch comal (a.k.a. skillet).  Check out my Utensils page for ideas on where to get one.

Ingredients

1 1/4 cups garbanzo bean flour

1/2 tbsp salt

1/2 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp pepper

1/8 tsp ground cumin

1 cup warm water

2 tbsp olive oil +1/2 tbsp for skillet

finely sliced onions

Directions

Pre-heat the oven to 475 degrees.   Pour approximately 1/2 tbsp of olive oil onto skillet and place in oven for 8-10 minutes to heat.  Combine garbanzo bean flour, salt, garlic powder, pepper, and cumin.  Add water and olive oil and mix until well combined.  Finely slice 1/4 – 1/2 of an onion.  Carefully remove heated skillet from oven and ensure that oil has coated the entire bottom.  Pour batter onto the hot skillet (it should sizzle) and use a spoon to evenly distribute.  Add onions to the top and bake in oven for approximately 10-12 minutes on the bottom rack.  Remove from oven and flip the socca over.  Bake for an additional 3-5 minutes.  Because ovens can vary in temperature, use your nose to smell when it’s done and adjust temperature if necessary to keep from burning (it may be that you have to bake it for longer at a lower temperature).  In my experience, I have better success (and an easier time flipping) if the socca is cooked on a higher temperature.

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

