Almond & Brown Rice Flour Pancakes

Sundays are one of my favorite days to try new recipes.  It takes the sting out of the impending Monday (think Garfield and his detesting of said day of the week, as illustrated here).  I’ve been wanting to try my own version of pancakes for a long time and today I did a few test recipes and came out with one that I want to share.  While I do like grain-free pancakes that are made from coconut flour or almond flour, I decided to experiment with a mixture of almond flour and brown rice flour for this recipe.  If you are looking for a completely grain-free recipe, I recommend Nourishing Days’ Fluffy Coconut Flour Pancakes, which are quite delicious.  By using brown rice flour, my pancakes are not grain-free; however, they are still gluten-free and super yummy.  I also find that by using brown rice flour, these pancakes have a nice texture perfect for flipping on a non-stick skillet (for some reason, I always tend to have difficulties flipping pancakes that are made with just coconut flour or just almond flour).  These brown quite nicely and have lovely little pockets that develop on the surface, which I think make them ideal for the addition of maple syrup on top.

I anticipate tweaking this recipe in the future to see what other additions/substitutions that I can make (applesauce or pumpkin puree perhaps).  But I’m happy with how these came out.

Ingredients

1 cup blanched almond flour (I recommend Honeyville almond flour)

1/2 cup brown rice flour

1/2 tsp baking powder

2 large eggs

1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk

1/4 cup honey

butter for cooking

Directions

Combine almond flour, brown rice flour, and baking powder in a small bowl.  Add eggs, almond milk, and honey and mix until well combined.  Grease non-stick skillet with butter and heat on medium low heat.  Pour 1/4 cup of batter onto skillet for each pancake.  Cook on each side until golden brown (these can burn easily, so do watch them closely and don’t over cook).  Makes approximately 10 pancakes that are each 3 inches in diameter.

Tagged , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Almond & Brown Rice Flour Pancakes

  1. Boyerdee says:

    OMG! They look DE-lish. I can’t wait to try them with some homemade turkey breakfast sausage. I like to make pannycakes as big as my head or Bigfoot shaped ones. I might try substituting agave nectar for the honey or maybe some “Z sweet” a zero calorie sweetener. Keep cooking Comida 🙂

  2. Chow Bella says:

    I agree, Sunday is a great day to relax and try new recipes in the kitchen! I will have to try this recipe out soon, it looks quite yummy and healthy. Also, thanks for visiting my blog! Looking forward to reading your future posts 🙂

  3. Simple ingredients and simple recipe…but looks tasty! I’ll try this out for the next Sunday morning breakfast =)

  4. These look delish!!!!

  5. Barbara Brunner says:

    These pancakes are light and fluffy and a perfect for people who prefer the texture of white wheat flour pancakes but want a healthier version. I halved the recipe to try it and put only 1T of honey to further drop the carb load. I used Bob’s Red Mill flours. For the Almond Flour, I chose the SUPER-FINE option.

  6. Lozz1976409 says:

    I made these – I added 1/2tsp xanthum gum, don’t know if it added anything, but they were a hit with my 4 year old and 1 year old.

Leave a Reply

